top of page

The Yukon Chamber of Commerce Hosts a Regional Transportation Workshop and Elects a New Chair and Bo

The Yukon Chamber of Commerce hosted a very productive North Yukon Regional Transportation working session attended by about 35 delegates in at the Keno City Hotel. This was followed by our Annual General Meeting (AGM) and associated dinner and breakfast speaker events in Mayo.

Tammy Beese was elected Chair. Kells Boland (1st Vice Chair), Kendell Tricker (2nd Vice Chair), Philip Fitzgerald (Treasurer) were re-elected to serve another term on the YCC Executive Committee. Luanne Johnson, Kyla Barker and Ben Asquith were newly elected to the board, and join YCC directors Hector Campbell, Scott Wylie and Paul Burbage who were re-elected.

Newly elected YCC Chair Tammy Beese commented, “We were pleased by the participation of local business members from the Silver Trail Chamber of Commerce, as well as other businesses from across the territory. Four new chamber resolutions were put forward by chamber members and passed by vote. These resolutions will contribute to guiding our direction in the coming year. We are excited by the composition of our new board, and are continuing to work with the community chambers across the Territory to update the capabilities of the chamber and enhance its relevance for the Yukon business community.”

YCC President Peter Turner added, “Departing Chair Stanley Noel deserves special recognition for the progress that has been accomplished over during his two-year tenure. He will continue to contribute to the Yukon chamber movement, both in his capacity as Past Chair, and his representation of the Yukon on the Canadian Chamber of Commerce board. As well, I want to express my sincere thanks to departing past chair Michael Pealow. Michael has been an active contributor to the success of the Chamber for the last seven years. I also say thank you to departing board members Anne Turner and Thane Philips, who contributed over the last two years. Special thanks as well to AGM member sponsors Yukon Energy, Northwestel, and NVD!”

Background on YCC

Incorporated in 1985, the Yukon Chamber of Commerce is the collective voice of Yukon's business community, working to create a climate conducive to a strong private-sector economy by providing leadership and representation on issues and projects affecting business. The Chamber works with over 750 Yukon businesses, through either direct or Community Chamber membership, as well as the five Community Chambers of Dawson City, Silver Trail, St. Elias, Watson Lake and Whitehorse.

104 views0 comments
bottom of page